Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-04-06 - 8:30 pm

My little girl...

My living room has toys strewn all over it, as it does every day at this time, there are dishes to be done, as usual, and countless other things on my �to do� list. My daughter has just gone down for the night, and is looking so peaceful in her sleep, and I am having a cold beer. I think I deserve it. I handed in my second to last take-home exam this evening, with one more to go due on Monday and then it is break time for almost 3 whole weeks. Ooooh, I can�t wait. I have 2 courses starting in May, which promise to be pretty gruelling since they are intensive (only 7 weeks long), and 2 more in September and it is GRADUATION TIME! I can�t believe that I am this close to finishing. I hope I do all right in these last few classes. I don�t have the time to put the same amount of energy and thought into these classes as I once did, what with rearing a child, taking care of the home stuff and managing to continue my studies. There is, in fact, not much time for anything at all.

My daughter is 8 months old now (as of yesterday) and she has her first 2 teeth coming in (they started last week). She is trying like crazy to stand up, but has yet to make it past standing on her knees (thank the gods). She is good at throwing herself around, knocking her head on anything that may be running interference with her self-throwing, and she is getting very good at taking most of these knocks in stride. Today she knocked her head on a metal chair leg in the office, the edge of the coffee table and flipped out of her �donut� (an inner tube with fun things to touch and play with on it that she sits inside) backwards and either barely notice, or in the last case look up at me with a silly grin tht clearly said �look mommy, look what I did�. Sigh. If I didn�t hate vacuuming so much I might have considered carpeting. Nah. In fact, although I am there not more that a few feet away almost all of the time, I let her get her fair share of bumps and scrapes. Now I am not talking about fatal accidents or broken limbs here, lets be serious. I DO, however, allow her to explore her world with relatively little interference and give her a quick hug and kiss better when she hurts herself enough to warrant a good cry an plop her back down to her playing so as not to be too distracting or coddling.

Some people might find this terrible, but I do NOT want a real princess for a child. I want a kid that will fall of her bike get a few scrapes and barely have time to run in for a bandaid before hopping back on to catch up with her friends. I want my kid to need a good scrubbing in the tub at the end of the day because she was outside really playing, not worrying about getting a bit of mud on her hands. So, hopefully by allowing her to explore the hard wood floor and all that is on it with her hands and her head I am instilling some of this in her.

One of her favourite playthings is a bib. Preferably one with ties, the Velcro ones, although fun too, are not quite the same.

She still doesn�t crawl, not really. I am sure she will walk first and just not bother with the whole crawling thing. Sigh. That�d be my brother�s fault for sure. :)

She ate her first cracker today, a saltine with no salt. She loved it as much as every other food she has eaten until now. Ok, my child is a garbagr compactor (just like me). There is nothing she wont eat, (except meat) and she keeps opening her mouth for more. We actually have to stop feeding her at some point because I think she�d just keep eating if we kept offering her food all day long. A piece of toast is usually a good ender. She can take her time eating it, feed herself (which she loves to do) and I can do other things like the dishes or eat my own meal while she is pleasantly occupied with s bit of toast. It�s a wonderful thing.

I adore my little girl and cannot imagine me life without her.

Now, about a second one�. :)

Black and white - Colour

Rant and/or Rave at will

quick hello - 2005-07-19
Extreme worl poverty must end, and we have the power to do it - 2005-07-03
Get over myself! - 2005-04-22
A venting session - 2005-04-21
My little girl... - 2005-04-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!